Media Partner

oe-a logo

Become a sponsor and/or exhibitor...

Final Conference Program

Thursday, October 1

8:45 - 9:15 Registration Opens / Coffee served
9:15 - 9:45 Opening Welcome Session
  Dr. Danick Briand, EPFL, Neuchâtel – Swiss ePrint General Chair

Dr. Giovanni Nisato, CSEM, Basel – Swiss ePrint co-Chair

Prof. Christian Enz, Director of EPFL-IMT, Neuchâtel – Welcome address

9:45 - 10:30 Keynote Speaker

Advanced Processes, Materials, and Devices for Emerging Printed Electronics Applications
Prof. Vivek Subramanian, University of California, Berkeley (USA)
10:30 -10:45 Short break (no coffee)
10:45 - 11:45 Session 1 - Devices
Chair: Dr. Danick Briand, EPFL
10:45 Point of care diagnostics based on organic and printed electronics
Prof. Tony Killard, University of the West of England (United Kingdom)
11:15 New materials and patterning methodologies for plastic electronics, energy generation & wireless energy harvesting systems
Prof. Thomas D. Anthopoulos, Department of Physics & The Centre for Plastic Electronics, Imperial College London (United Kingdom)
11:45 Printed electrochemical sensors for biotechnology
Dr. Marc Schnieper, Integrated Sensing & Security Group, CSEM (Switzerland)
12:15 3-minute elevator pitches:
  1. Novacentrix
  2. NSM AG
  3. CST
12:30 - 14:00 Lunch Break + Poster & Exhibition visit
14:00 - 15:30 Session 2 - Bio and Functional Printing
Chair: Prof. Juergen Brugger, EPFL
14:00 Implementing mechanical compliance in materials and devices for neural interface applications
Prof. Stephanie P. Lacour, EPFL, Centre for Neuroprosthetics, IMT/IBI (Switzerland)
14:30 Engineering a lung tissue barrier by 3D bioprinting – what are the challenges and opportunities?
Prof. Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser, Adolphe Merkle Institute, University of Fribourg (Switzerland)
15:00 Development of biomaterials for 3D printing of tissues
Prof. Matthias Lutolf, EPFL (Switzerland)
15:30 3-minute elevator pitches:
  1. Mathis
  2. TSE Troller  
  3. Swiss Photonics
15:45 - 16:15 Coffee Break + Exhibition
16:15 - 17:45 Session 3 - Materials
Chair: Dr. Giovanni Nisato, CSEM, Basel
16:15 Solution-processed and printed inorganic solar cells: realities and hopes
Dr. Yaroslav Romanyuk, EMPA (Switzerland)
16:45 Enabling new manufacturing routes for advanced micro optical component by novel inkjet-printing compatible materials
Dr. Loïc Jacot-Descombes, micro resist technology GmbH (Germany)
17:15 Towards cost effective diffusion barriers for printed electronics
Wolfgang Lohwasser, AMCOR (Switzerland)
17:45 3-minute elevator pitches::
  1. printcolor
  2. micro resist technology
  3. Genis'Ink
18:00 - 19:00 Poster Session - in Exhibition area
20:00 Conference Dinner at Château de Neuchâtel (meet there, see map in conference bag)
20:30 Welcome message from Mr. Jean-Nathanaël Karakash, State Minister (NE), Department of Economy and Social Affairs
20:45 Best Poster Award Announcement

Friday, October 2

8:15 Registration desk open
8:45 - 9:30 Keynote Speaker

Printing technologies for sensors and actuators in industrial applications
Dr. Metin Giousouf, FESTO (Germany)

9:30 - 10:30 Session 4 - Manufacturing Equipment
Chair: Dr. Giovanni Nisato, CSEM
Printing versus coating technology Which way Printed Electronics with solution coating will go?
Andrea Glawe, KROENERT GmbH & Co KG, (Germany)
10:00 Optimized slot dies for electronic products
Thomas Ramel, TSE Troller AG (Switzerland)
10:30 3-minute elevator pitches::
  1. FUJIFILM Dimatix
  2. Ceradrop 
  3. microdrop
10:45 - 11:15 Coffee Break + Exhibition
11:15 - 12:15 Session 5 - Processing & Manufacturing
Chair: Prof. Juergen Brugger, EPFL
11:15 Printocent Pilot Factory - open access for piloting and practical implementations
Dr. Kari Rönkä, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd (Finland)
11:45 Precise Material Deposition by Inkjet Technology
Dipl.-Phys. Wilhelm Meyer, microdrop Technologies GmbH (Germany)
12:15 3-minute elevator pitches::
  1. CSEM
  2. Micronarc
  3. OE-A
12:30 - 13:45 Lunch Break + Poster & Exhibition visit
13:45 - 15:45 Session 6 - Systems & Applications
Chair: Dr. Danick Briand, EPFL
13:45 Piezoelectric microgenerators for flexible energy harvesting using P(VDF-TrFE) screen-formulated inks
Dr. Bernard Viala and Elena Gusarova, CEA, HDR (France)
14:15 Printed OPV at CSEM, recent advances
Dr. Ton Offermans, CSEM (Switzerland)
14:45 Printed Electronics Products at Thinfilm Electronics
Dr. Torbjörn Eriksson, Thin Film Electronics AB (Norway)
15:15 Overview of printed electronics development in China
Prof. Zheng Cui, Suzhou Institute of Nanotech, Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
15:45 - 16:15 Closing remarks, next edition announcement

Dr. Danick Briand, EPFL
Dr. Giovanni Nisato, CSEM
16:15 Farewell Drink